Posted April 26th, 2010, in: Evil Robots| Scam Email Mashups| Spam and Scams

The following is an Email I got from Hanna Mae, mae@moonaconsulting.com.  It looks like a phishing scam to me.  It contains the following takedown notice. The picture is the face of Vivek Moona, who runs Moona Consulting in Amsterdam, according to LinkedIN.  I don’t know if they are legit or not.

2nd UPDATE: The folks at Moona helped me to determine that the email header info shows:

Return-Path: <mae.hannahdj@moonaconsulting.com>

Received: from consultingmag.com (devel-si.lightedge.com [216.81.167.125])

This essentially proves that moonaconsulting.com is not the true sender of the email.

UDPATE: a few weeks after posting this, I got an email from the owner of the site this email claims to be from.  He says they had nothing to do with these phishing scam emails.  The message I got from him is at the bottom of this post.

Subject: Contract terms have been breached.

8 April, 2010

Hello,

It has come to our attention that you are republishing original content from our website on your website.
Your unauthorized use of original material from our website is in violation of copyrights owned by us.
If you do not immediately remove the copyrighted material from your website, and notify us in writing
that you have done so, we will have no choice but to pursue legal action against you.
We require the copyrighted material to be removed and written notice given that such has been removed,
by no later than May 1, 2010. Attached is a list of the copyrighted material that you are infriging on.
It contains links to the copyrighted material that you are using.

Sincerely,

CASE ID: 7714338

[Attached was a Word doc which says:]

(double click to view)

embedded you will find the law suit documents that

we wish to present in court.

Thank you

[It seems this is a phishing scam.  They want me to launch an embedded app or something.]

[now here's the response I got to this post from the site's owner.]

 

Dear Andrew,
This is Vivek Moona. I saw your post on http://andrewapeterson.com/2010/04/fake-cease-and-desist-notice-from-moona-consulting/
These emails are phishing emails and in no way are these people representing Moona Consulting. I am very sorry that these people have received the emails, but they were sent out by someone impersonating as an employee of Moona Consulting and with any modern email programs deviants can send out “@anyemaildomain” fake emails that do not originate from our domain/address.
We are reporting abuse to the appropriate authorities and meanwhile could you do us a favor and please update your post accordingly. Feel free to contact me regarding this.
Best Regards
Vivek Moona
Moona Consulting
T +31 (0)20 4715070 | F +31 (0)204715071 | M +31 (0)646150014
www.moonaconsulting.com
Moona Consulting B.V. is registered at the Amsterdam Chamber of Commerce (“Kamer van Koophandel”) under the number 34202305. Any information transmitted by means of this e-mail (and any of its attachments) is intended exclusively for the addressee or addressees and for those authorised by the addressee or addressees to read this message. Any use by a party other than the addressee or addressees is prohibited.
[I wonder what authorities he is contacting.]

6 Responses to “Fake ‘Cease and Desist’ Notice From consultingmag.com posing as moonaconsulting.com”

 
Alessandro wrote on April 26th, 2010 4:02 pm :

We received an identical email this morning, with the same message content but sent along from Elisa G. Black [mailto:eblack_yq@lysiasgroup.com] from Lysias Group of Amersfoort, the Netherlands. I was immediately suspicious and did not open the attached word file, but entered some of the text from the body of the message into google and it hit your page.

andrewapeterson wrote on April 26th, 2010 4:12 pm :

Alessandro,
Thanks for writing. We are helping to expose these evil bastards.

John wrote on April 26th, 2010 7:45 pm :

We also recieved a similar email from vicentemcCallmi@moonaconsulting.com
also with an attachment that opens up as an .exe file… 1st thought.. virus… then i realized that there is no way we can be in breach of any contract .. the more i thought about it the more i realized this was a scam… thank you for posting this up as it validates my suscpicion.

Stacey wrote on April 26th, 2010 8:34 pm :

We received a notice for a contract breach, with directions to click on a link for a website that would have lawsuit documents. Rather than use the link, I typed the web address (www.thomas-and-harris.com) into my browser and found the site is “under construction” . . .there is no way I’m going to use the imbedded link in the message.
The message was sent by janielocke_tc@moonaconsulting.com
I’ve referred this to our IT department to update the filter.

C Mulvihill wrote on April 27th, 2010 4:05 am :

Same thing happened, but from Jonathan M. Robinson j_robinson_kd@hcg.net

rick wrote on April 27th, 2010 1:13 pm :

Another one from Nadine J. Sinclair (nadine_sinclairhi@pwconsulting.nl).

Leave a Reply